12th Annual Addison Mizner Awards
For Excellence In Classical And Traditional Architecture

December 20, 2023

12thAnnual Addison Mizner Awards – April 20, 2024


The Florida Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art is pleased to announce our 12thAnnual Addison Mizner Award Design Competition for Excellence in Classical and Traditional Architecture. The awards program is intended to celebrate individuals and design firms in Florida and the Grand Caribbean who excel in the advancement and promotion of the ideals of classicism and traditional design in architecture, urbanism and the allied arts. The awards are named for Addison Mizner, the architect whose civic and domestic works defined the standards of excellence in composition and craftsmanship for classical and traditional design in the early years of urban development in Florida. Addison Mizner’s introduction of the Spanish Colonial and Mediterranean styles left an indelible mark on the architecture and urban cultural history of Florida and, to this day, delights those who visit his buildings and urban places.

Award Categories

The awards will recognize built work in the following categories by the Jury

Residential Estate over 10,000 sq. ft.

Residential over 5,000 sq. ft.

Residential under 5,000 sq. ft.

Multi-Family Residential



Historic Preservation

Renovation and Addition

Landscape Architecture

Garden Room



Residential Interior Design

Commercial Interior Design

One Room Interior Design

Planning and Urban Design


Fine Arts

Research and Documentation

Emerging Classicist

The ICAA FL Board awards by designation the contributions of individuals, firms, and organizations
recognizing excellence in Classical 
and Traditional Architecture and Urbanism in the following categories:




World Achievement Contribution


Any work, regardless of location, completed by members of the Florida Chapter of the ICAA is eligible for consideration. National and International ICAA members are eligible to submit projects built in Florida and the Caribbean. Projects submitted must have been completed within in the last ten (10) years. Individuals and firms may join the Florida Chapter of the ICAA at any time by visiting https://www.classicist.org/membership/. The Individual or Firm making the submission must have the approval of all parties with legal ownership of the project, the client, architect and or designer of record, and or developer. Those making the submission must have permission to use all photography and printed material contained within the submission. The ICAA FL Chapter and ICAA reserve the right to use all materials contained within the submission on their website, in print, and digital media for promotional purposes.


The jurors will convene in the city of Palm Beach, Florida for deliberation. Jury results will be announced in late February 2024, and award recipients will be recognized at an evening ceremony and dinner on April 20, 2024 at The Colony Hotel, Palm Beach.

Submission Requirements

All projects must be submitted electronically with link below. No physical submissions will be accepted.

The following two PDFs will be uploaded while completing the online submission:

    This is to be a PDF document of 2 single-sided pages that describes the theoretical and conceptual content of the project, compositional elements and references as well as prominent features of the site, materials, and methods of construction, project administration and any other information necessary to convey the significance of the project to the Jury. Each page should be 8.5”x11” in portrait orientation, and is to have minimal formatting. One page should include the Project Title & Location, which should not reveal ownership or entrant’s identity, and the Project Description (no more than one-half page of text). The remaining space may be used for drawings or images that quickly express the scope of the project. Captions may be included as desired. Please see the sample abstract here.
    This is to be a PDF document of no more than 20 single-sided pages that documents the project. Each page should be no larger than 8.5”x11”, but orientation is at the entrant’s discretion. The first page should include the Project Title & Location, which should not reveal ownership or entrant’s identity, and the Project Description, which should encompass no more than one-half page of text. The remaining space may be used for as many drawings or images as desired. Captions should be included where appropriate. Entrants should craft the Presentation to give as full a description of the project and their scope and involvement as possible. Architectural submissions are encouraged to include drawings such as site plans, floor plans, elevations, sections, and or details. Projects in the ‘Residential – Renovations & Additions’ sub-category should document the ‘before’ state as well as the ‘after’ and make clear, by description or diagram, the extent of work. Projects in the ‘Historic Preservation’ or ‘Craftsmanship’ categories are encouraged to include process images. Projects located within, around, or adjacent to an existing building should include an exterior photo of the building for reference. Please see the sample presentation here. (300 MB file limit).

Adjudication is blind; please do not include identifying names in the Project Abstract or Project Presentation.

Entrants must have permission to use all photography and/or printed material contained within the submission. Winning entrants will be contacted individually for high-quality source files for inclusion within the Awards presentation and booklet. The ICAA and ICAA FL reserves the right to use all materials contained within the submission in future printed and digital media for promotion purposes.

Entry fees for all submissions are $200 for the first submission and $100 for each additional submission, excepting the Emerging Classicist category, for which the fee is $25. There is no limit to the number of projects submitted as long as each submission fits the requirements as stated. The same project may be submitted in multiple categories by different entrants as appropriate; please note that each entry should include an entry form, Abstract, and Presentation. Projects previously submitted for past Awards years, but not selected as recipients, may be resubmitted so long as they continue to meet the requirements as stated. Entry fees may be submitted electronically with online application. Fees may also be paid by check. Checks may be made out to the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art, Florida (ICAA FL) and mailed with a tracking number to ICAA FL, P.O. Box 3641, Coral Gables, FL 33114. Please do not mail any submission material to the ICAA FL.

Please email all questions regarding submissions to: Director@flclassicist.org

5:00 PM EST December 20, 2023

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop